DexCon Debriefing

So, Elizabeth and I went to DexCon this weekend and had a lot of fun. Here’s the rundown:

We played Russ‘s game Contract Work, which is a lot of fun. It’s about contract killing. He has some concerns about the mathematical rough edges it has, and sure, it’s not done yet, but it’s going to be a really good thing when it is. It’s pointing at a really cool new thing, structurally, and he runs it really well. What I’m most excited about, though, is that it’s not just good for its thing, but also, the formula he’s got in it is obviously also the formula for heist movies and ‘catacomb plunderer’ action film.

It’s Complicated went really well both times we ran it. One session turned out to be an 80s drunken college kids movie about being trapped in a morgue freezer on a dare, and the other was a reality show about failed or just inconsequential celebrities. Who knew that IC was a game that’s good for reality shows? We hadn’t predicted it, but Shael and Ellen and Bret twigged to that immediately and it was super great. I haven’t laughed so hard in ages.

Mist-Robed Gate went really well too. I had fun running it, and it seemed like Lilith enjoyed watching. I gotta figure out how to insert new players in the middle of an already-running game. Thanks to all my players!

It was great seeing my tribe and hanging out. We had some pretty serious crowd anxiety, and like Elizabeth and I both sort of flipped out about that. But it was nice. I got to see some of Jenn’s new art! I got to see new Annalise books! We talked about games with Bret and Shael and Ivy and Jere and Bob! There was a flowchart! Rob showed us the proofs of Misspent Youth! Gingerbread smells good. Oh shit I have to send formalwear email.

P.S. Also my car exploded but now it is okay and thank you everyone who came to our aid in dealing with that. You are all lifesavers. Gummi lifesavers.

Leave a Reply

